E-mail and search functions

Secondary Navigation

Univ

Calendar

Platforms for Cross-Institutional Exchange

We have identified six synergistic strategic multidisciplinary research platforms around which research activities with significant societal impact are organized:

  • Energy
  • Materials Development
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Transport Research
  • Medical and Biomedical Technologies
  • Humanities and Social Sciences

These research platforms constitute a natural opportunity for defining cross-institutional faculty, research, and graduate and undergraduate exchange initiatives between the two institutions. In many instances, there are corresponding campus- or college-level initiatives at Illinois.

To this end, the list below contains the names, affiliation, and contact information for individuals at KTH and Illinois whose research or administrative activities fall within each of the six strategic research platforms and who are expected to attend the Stage I Research Symposium.

Topic: Energy

KTH contacts:
1. Mats Jonsson (matsj@nuchem.kth.se) Professor and Head of Division of Nuclear Chemistry. Read more here.
2. Per Lundqvist (perlundq@energy.kth.se) Professor and co-Head of Division of Applied Thermodynamics and Refrigeration; Director of Undergraduate and Master’s studies, School of Industrial Engineering and Management. Read more here.
3. Björn Palm (bpalm@energy.kth.se) Professor and co-Head of Division of Applied Thermodynamics and Refrigeration. Read more here.
4. Ronald Wennersten (rw@kth.se) Professor and Head of Department of Industrial Ecology. Read more here.
5. Stefan Östlund (stefan@ee.kth.se) Professor of Electric Power Engineering; Dean, School of Electrical Engineering. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. James Stubbins (jstubbin@illinois.edu) Professor and Head of Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering. Read more here.
2. Clifford Singer (csinger@illinois.edu) Professor of Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering; Co-director, Initiative on Energy and Sustainability Engineering. Read more here.
3. Peter Sauer (psauer@illinois.edu) Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Read more here.
4. Kuan Chong (K.C.) Ting (kcting@illinois.edu) Professor and Head of Agricultural and Biological Engineering. Read more here.
5. Robert Rauber (r-rauber@illinois.edu) Professor and Head of Atmospheric Sciences. Read more here.
6. Xinlei Wang (xwang2@illinois.edu) Associate Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering. Read more here.

Topic: Materials development

KTH contacts:
1. Eva Malmström Jonsson (mavem@kth.se) Professor in Fibre and Polymer Technology; Deputy President of KTH. Read more here.
2. Monica Ek (monicaek@kth.se) Senior Lecturer in Wood Chemistry and Pulp Technology; Director of Research Studies, School of Chemical Sciences. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. John Abelson (abelson@illinois.edu) Professor of Material Science and Engineering; Co-Director, Initiative on Energy and Sustainability Engineering. Read more here.
2. Placid Ferreira (pferreir@illinois.edu) Professor and Head of Mechanical Science and Engineering; Former Director, Center for Nanoscale Chemical-Electrical-Mechanical Manufacturing Systems. Read more here.
3. Narayana Aluru (aluru@illinois.edu) Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering; Center of Advanced Materials for the Purification of Water with systems. Read more here.
4. Manohar Kulkarni (kulkarni@illinois.edu) Director, Illinois Sustainable Technology Center. Read more here.

Topic: Medical and biomedical technologies

KTH contacts:
1. Per Berglund (perbe@kth.se) Professor in Biochemistry; Vice-Dean of Faculty. Read more here.
2. Joakim Lundeberg (joakiml@biotech.kth.se) Professor of Molecular Biotechnology, Science for Life Laboratory. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. Harris Lewin (h-lewin@illinois.edu) Professor of Immunogenetics; Director, Institute for Genomic Biology. Read more here.
2. Steven Zimmerman (sczimmer@illinois.edu) Professor and Head of Chemistry. Read more here.
3. Huimin Zhao (zhao5@illinois.edu) Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Read more here.
4. Bruce Fouke (fouke@illinois.edu) Associate Professor in Geology, Microbiology, and the Institute for Genomic Biology. Read more here.

Topic: Information and communication technology

KTH contacts:
1. Carl Gustaf Jansson (cgja@kth.se) Professor of Communication Systems; Vice Dean, Deputy Head, and Director of Research Studies, School of Information and Communication Technology. Read more here.
2. György Dán (gyuri@kth.se) Assistant professor in Communication Networks. Read more here.
3. Michael Hanke (hanke@nada.kth.se) Associate Professor of Numerical Analysis. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. William Kramer (wkramer@ncsa.illinois.edu) Deputy Director, Blue Waters. Read more here.
2. Robert Wilhelmson (wilhelms@illinois.edu) Chief Science Officer, National Center for Supercomputing Applications. Read more here.
3. Merle Giles (mgiles@illinois.edu) Director, National Center for Supercomputing Applications Private Sector Program. Read more here.
4. William Gropp (wgropp@illinois.edu) Professor of Computer Science Deputy Director, Institute for Advance Computing Applications and Technologies. Read more here.
5. Wen-mei Hwu (hwu@iti.illinois.edu) Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Coordinated Science Laboratory. Read more here.
6. Scott Pickard (spickard@illinois.edu) Associate Director, Information Trust Institute. Read more here.

Topic: Transport research

KTH contacts:
1. Björn Birgisson (bjornbir@kth.se) Professor and Head of Highway and Railway Engineering; Vice-President for Research Structure and Content. Read more here.
2. Leif Kari (leifkari@kth.se) Professor in Engineering Acoustics Program Director in Engineering Physics. Read more here.
3. Jakob Kuttenkeuler (jakob@kth.se) Professor and Head of Centre of Naval Architecture. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. Jeffrey Roesler (jroesler@illinois.edu) Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Associate Director, Advanced Transportation Research and Engineering Laboratory. Read more here.
2. Erol Tutumluer (tutumlue@illinois.edu) Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Read more here.
3. Christopher Barkan (cbarkan@illinois.edu) Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Director, Rail Transportation and Engineering Center. Read more here.

Topic: Humanities and social sciences

KTH contacts:
1. Nina Wormbs (nina@kth.se) Associate Professor and Interim Head of Philosophy and History of Technology. Read more here.
2. Margaretha Andolf (andolf@kth.se) Head of Unit for Language and Communication. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. Robert Pahre (pahre@illinois.edu) Professor of Political Science. Read more here.
2. Gillen D’Arcy Wood (gdwood@illinois.edu) Professor of English. Read more here.
3. James Hay (jameshay@illinois.edu) Professor of Media and Cinema Studies. Read more here.
4. Anna Stenport (aws@illinois.edu) Assistant Professor and Director of Scandinavian Studies. Read more here.
5. Jesse Ribot (ribot@illinois.edu) Associate Professor of Geography; Lead Person, Initiative on Social Dimensions of Environmental Policy. Read more here.
6. Rayvon Fouché (rfouche@illinois.edu) Associate Professor of History. Read more here.
7. James Anderson (jimand@illinois.edu) Associate Dean of College of Fine and Applied Arts; Professor of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. Read more here.

Topic: International Exchange

KTH contacts:
1. Tina Murray (tina@kth.se) Head of Unit, KTH International Relations. Read more here.
2. Charlotte Elfgren (elfg@kth.se) Regional Advisor, KTH International Relations. Read more here.

Illinois contacts:
1. Stephen Nussbaum (snussbm@illinois.edu) Director, Office of Student International Academic Affairs. Read more here.
2. Timothy Barnes (tebarnes@illinois.edu) Assistant Director, International Programs and Studies. Read more here.
3. Teresa Finis (tjfinis@illinois.edu) Director, International Programs, College of Engineering. Read more here.
4. Barbara Hancin-Bhatt (hancinbh@illinois.edu) Assistant Dean and Director, International Programs, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Read more here.
5. Jonathan Tomkin (tomkin@illinois.edu) Research Assistant Professor of Geology. Read more here.
6. Bruce Litchfield (b-litch@illinois.edu) Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering; Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs, College of Engineering. Read more here.


View the videos and presentations.

View the symposium schedule.

Learn more about the participants.